Fix “The server could not be found” error with Microsoft Outlook

Posted: November 30, 2011 in Microsoft e-mail support, Microsoft Support, Outlook Support, Technical Support
Tags: , ,
"Outlook Email Setup"

Outlook Email Setup

It took almost two years to eventually migrate my PC from Windows XP to Windows 7. Being a skeptic I don’t trust anything easily. Though my friends and family had reminded many a time, but I didn’t notice their suggestions.

Yesterday was the Doomsday, I was trying to open a Word file of Office 2010, but I was getting errors repeatedly. At last, I concluded to renew all. I called up a close technician to install the new operating system and transfer all my previous settings and files. He did so, and luckily the problem was fixed.

Later, I asked for Outlook email setup, which was holding half of my digital assets. He did that and left my home.

Shortly, I required sending an e-mail using my Gmail id, which was already synced. But it was prompting an error “The server could not be found.” When I couldn’t understand the crux, I searched online to get Outlook support. After spending a few minutes I got a relevant website. I read the page thoroughly; eventually, called up on the toll-free number available on the site. The call was picked with no delay, and technician took the ownership to fix the Outlook e-mail send issue.

He instructed me to re-configure the Outlook as:

  • Start “Outlook”.
  • On the “Files” menu, click “Info”.
  • Click “Account Settings”, and then select “Account Settings” from the list.
  • Click to select the target “POP3” account, and then click “Change”.
  • Click “More Settings”.
  • Click the “Advanced” tab.
  • Gradually increase the server time-out setting until the issue is resolved.

Wow, the solution worked, and I could send messages in an error-free way. Thanks Outlook Help.

Leave a Reply

